The Poodles
No Quarter

The Poodles No Quarter

Release Date: 05-11-2010
Genre: Melodic Rock

The Poodles is more than just your average, run-of-the-mill, rock act, but rather a distinct group of Sweden's most experienced metal and hard rock musicians that assembled to spread Metal to the people. That's the mission of the mighty Poodles from Sweden.

Over the years, the members of the band have worked in different contexts and constellations with international celebrities like Motörhead, Whitesnake, Alice Cooper, Thin Lizzy and Swedish colleagues like Europe and Candlemass.

The Poodles debuted in 2006 with the release of “Metal Will Stand Tall” an album that, on the heels of the band’s appearance at the Eurovision song contest with the song “Night Of Passion”, was catapulted on the top of the national charts in Sweden. Two more singles were released from the album and both hit platinum and gold status respectively!

During 2006 the band played over 100 shows in Sweden and toured across Europe with Hammerfall and Krokus in support of the continental release on AFM Records.

In April 2007 The Poodles released "Seven Seas", the first single from their second album "Sweet Trade", a song written by Jakob Samuel, Jonas Reingold and Peter Stormare who is also featured as Black Sam - the pirate on the song (Peter Stormare – the actor in inter alia Prison Break, Fargo and Jurassic Park). With cannons loaded, the sails hoisted for the journey under a dawn sky, the album "Sweet Trade" was released on September 19, 2007 in Sweden as well as in 30 European countries, Russia and Japan, and on October 12 The Poodles embarked on another crusade - showing Europe the sweet trade of heavy metal -playing as special guest with Gotthard. The response from the crowd was fantastic. The groundwork was now laid for a headline tour of their own.

In the spring of 2008, the band was once again featured in the Swedish leg of the "Eurovision Song Contest". This time they allied themselves with the well known artist E-Type, a multi-platinum selling act by himself. The song "Line of Fire" was well received and has reached gold status. Next, The Poodles tried their wings playing a headline tour of their own, with Jaded Heart as Special guest. The tour consisted of 17 sold-out dates throughout Europe with blasting results. Some shows were even moved to bigger venues as a result of the great interest in the band.

In May, 2008, the guitar player Pontus Norgren decided to leave the band. In the wake of this, The Poodles brought in Henrik Bergqvist (previously in Southfork and Tiamat) debuted live in June at the Sweden Rock Festival, when The Poodles embarked on one of the biggest Swedish summer tours of any act, playing more than 30 shows in a little over 2 months.

Faced with the important task of planning and recording their third album The Poodles chose to make a fresh start and decided on producer Mats Valentin, who had previously worked with the band on the two hit singles “Line of Fire” and “Raise the Banner”. Furthermore they hired the legendary producer-mixer Mike Fraser (Aerosmith, AC/DC, Led Zeppelin, Whitesnake) to mix the album. Preceded by the hit single “One Out of Ten”, The Poodles released “Clash of the Elements” which is considered as their masterpiece thus far and toured relentlessly in support of the release playing a total of 112 shows in a bit more than one year, with two more European tours under their belt.

As a celebration of the end of an era and to start up their new worldwide recording deal with Frontiers Records, The Poodles release a live CD and DVD which presents the band in their most comfortable environment, the live show.

Aptly titled “In The Flesh” the DVD is a real in deep look at the Poodles style of life with in-deep interviews, that present each band member, behind-the stage instant footage and a collection of the promo videoclips shot for the “Clash of the Elements” promotion. In addition, a selection of the band’s classic cuts performed live shows that the Poodles are delivering the goods when the play live. The live cd, soundtrack of the DVD, plus the song “Lullaby For Jimmy” as cd exclusive, shows that behind the look and the words there is a solid band playing great music!

Get ready for the band’s new album planned for Spring 2011.

Jakob Samuel – vocals
Pontus Egberg – bass
Henrik Bergqvist – guitars
Christian Lundqvist - drums