XXX (Deluxe ed.)

Asia XXX (Deluxe ed.)

Release Date: 29-06-2012
Genre: Progressive rock

Thirty years after its eponymous debut album, ASIA ascended to the top of the Billboard Top 100 chart (where the album remained No.1 for 9 consecutive weeks). The legendary British classic rock band returns with a new studio album, the third after the reunion of the original lineup featuring Geoff Downes, Steve Howe, Carl Palmer and John Wetton.

Produced again by Mike Paxman (who also worked on the band’s latest effort “Omega), “XXX” (pronounced Triple X) is being hailed as ASIA’s best album since its classic early 80s releases. The original artwork the album was specifically designed by the acclaimed artist Roger Dean.

The first single taken from the highly anticipated new album is entitled “Face On The Bridge”, released digitally worldwide on Monday May 14th. A videoclip of the song is also available.

“We’re very pleased with, and confident about, XXX,” says John Wetton. “It encapsulates, lyrically and instrumentally, the essence of the band today. However, it is the very same four people that gave you the original, iconic album 30 years ago. If you loved it then, you will love it now.”

Says Asia’s guitarist, Steve Howe; “We wanted to recapture the energy of the first album, ASIA has always been about great songs, fantastic musicianship and I am sure fans of the first album, will fall in love with XXX.”

Formed at the dawn of the MTV era, Asia’s first release was the best selling album in the world in 1982 and sat at the number 1 spot in the USA for 9 weeks, powered by the classic rock anthem, “Heat Of The Moment,” and four other radio hits. Asia’s 1983 sophomore album, Alpha, also went multi-platinum and enjoyed several hit singles, including the #1 smash, “Don’t Cry”. During the recording of its third disc, the band splintered, and by the 1990s, only Geoff Downes remained from the original line-up.

The reunion came to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the band, but morphed itself into an ongoing endeavour.

Asia will be touring in Europe, Japan and USA in the fall of 2012.

Geoff Downes – keyboards
Steve Howe – guitars
Carl Palmer – drums
John Wetton – bass, vocals

Produced by Mike Paxman